Just another special day

Last Thursday, there is a special day. Pertama, Lebaran..! Kind of thanksgiving day in Islam. Many muslims go to mosque… eat special foods… gathering with other muslims (usually). Like celebration day, and it’s special.

Kedua, another special day is… final interview for scholarship. That’s why I couldn’t do the same thing like other muslim. I have to go somewhere instead mosque.

Beasiswa monbusho saya hanya setahun dan akan berakhir bulan depan. Sedangkan kalau ditanya kapan lulus… I just can answer, “Unpredictable” Bisa saja tahun depan, dua tahun lagi, tiga tahun lagi, or… I don’t know. I don’t have idea. So, if I still want to stay here and get my degree… I have to try searching another scholarship, no matter how hard is it.

20130810-134625.jpg

Saya mendaftar scholarship ini sehari setelah saya keluar dari rumah sakit beberapa waktu lalu. Ini private scholarship, jadi ada perusahaan yang memberikan beasiswa untuk sekolah pada foreigner student. Meski tidak sebanyak beasiswa monbusho, but that’s not bad. Monbusho, saya bisa terima 130ribu yen… tapi ini hanya 100ribu yen. Selain ini saya juga sudah mendaftar foundation lain. Tapi pengumumannya masih menunggu. Untuk scholarship yang ini, seleksi dokumen lolos… interview pertama lolos juga, meski japanese saya… I don’t know, I’m not really sure about it. Lucunya, saya malah ingat korean vocabulary daripada japanese…haha. Contoh, ‘agriculture’ in korean adalah ‘nongop’. I know agriculture in japanese has similar with korean. But I forgot what is that. So I told, “Nongop?” Dan interviewer (ada 5 professors) akhirnya bilang “In english is ok.” Setelahnya, saya baru lihat di translator kalau ‘agriculture’ in japanese adalah ‘nougyou’. See… similar, isn’t it? haha. That’s why recently I was starting to study japanese again. Instead for this interview, everyday I received japanese mail. It’s forced me to understand the japanese. Because many important informations are contained. So, the study… is not too serious, but just noted some japanese vocabulary with kanji on the small word card. It’s useful! I can bring everywhere and it’s small, easy to hold.

20130810-135702.jpg

Yup, interview-nya dalam japanese, not in english. That made me a little bit nervous. Karena interview pertama dalam japanese, tidak diragukan kalau interview kedua ini (final interview) juga dalam japanese. Yang nervous adalah jika saya lupa vocab. Memang syarat mendaftar scholarship ini adalah ‘can speak japanese for daily’. Jadi dalam interview kedua ini, saya harus datang ke salah satu perusahaan besar di Jepang karena interviewer-nya adalah orang-orang dari perusahaan itu tersebut. Di Jepang, untuk beasiswa pendidikan sekolah itu banyak. Asal kita bisa bahasa Jepang. Karena seperti yang saya alami ini, interview-nya dalam japanese misalnya.

Menurut mereka, president dari perusahaan tersebut ingin berterima kasih pada negara-negara Asia yang telah banyak membantu untuk memajukan perusahaannya. Maka dari itu beliau memberi beasiswa pada mahasiswa asing dari Asia yang bersekolah di Jepang. Pertanyaannya simpel, misalnya coba ceritakan research-mu secara simpel. Karena interviewernya bilang, kalau baca di dokumen saya, my research sounds difficult. Mungkin sensei saya kasih recommendation letter dalam istilah yang susah kali ya, hehe. Lalu, ada pertanyaan kenapa saya butuh scholarship ini, dari mana saya belajar bahasa Korea, dan… kalau saya ketrima scholarship ini dan ada event di perusahaan tersebut… apa saya bisa arrange waktu saya untuk datang, dan itu paling setahun 2 kali. Terakhir, saya ditanya… apa kata-kata terakhir yang ingin kmau sampaikan? And I answered, “Shogakkin ga irimasu” (=I need this scholarship). Hahaha, sounds to the point… but I don’t have any idea what should I say.

And… the end of the day… when I was on my desk, mr. vampire called me.

“There is fireworks now.”

So, I went to the rooftop of my institute building… Yes, it’s fireworks! Hanabi summer festival! But.. I couldn’t see properly, because there is something obstruct my view. Last year, at least I can see some fireworks. But now… nothing. Let me compare from this pictures. (left= last year pic ; right= this year pic). The trees are growing fast.. haha.

20130810-134700.jpg 20130810-134726.jpg

I like foreworks. And it made my day was special. I wish, I can meet another special day after this.

~ Adrianna

Leave a Reply

